Due to global production & fulfillment delays some customers may experience longer wait times for deliveries on this store. We thank you for your patience & customer care is here to help if you have any concerns.

The Live Tapes Vol. 2: Live At Bombay Rock (CD)

In stock
Product Code:
RELEASE DATE: 03/12/2020

“The Live Tapes - Vol 2 - Live At The Bombay Rock” is the second in an ongoing series of special live recordings unearthed from Cold Chisel’s own archives.
In 1979 Cold Chisel were yet to have a hit record but they were already forging their legendary live reputation. This particular gig happened on April 27 at Melbourne’s infamous Bombay Rock and some of the show was broadcast live to air throughout Australia on various AM radio stations. It was the first time most listeners had encountered the tsunami of a Cold Chisel gig. For those people the experience was unforgettable and over the decades since that night, tapes, CD burns and MP3’s of the radio broadcast have circulated constantly among hardcore fans.

Now “The Live Tapes - Vol 2 - Live At The Bombay Rock” captures the entire concert - including previously unheard recordings that weren’t actually part of the original radio broadcast. “The band was in a sweet spot around that time”, recalls piano player and primary songwriter, Don Walker. “Keen and hungry, not yet widely known, but very sharp on the tools.

The gig took place just two months after the release of Cold Chisel's much-loved second LP, Breakfast At Sweethearts and features live versions of all but one of that album's songs. However, the difference between the two sets of recordings is remarkable. Despite the undeniable strengths of the songs on Breakfast At Sweethearts, Cold Chisel has always been dissatisfied with the somewhat restrained and one-dimensional sound of the studio versions.

The Live Tapes - Vol 2 - Live at Bombay Rock recasts the songs from Breakfast... in a whole new light. These newly remixed interpretations capture the ferocious intensity and reckless beauty of Cold Chisel live. From the roundhouse blues of 'Shipping Steel' and the dark paranoia of 'Conversations' and 'The Door' through to the fluid and spare 'Dresden' and ‘Plaza', this is how Breakfast At Sweethearts should have sounded.

Additionally, first album favourites 'Home and Broken Hearted' and 'One Long Day' (a freeform 9-minute and perhaps definitive version of this Cold Chisel classic) plus the live standard 'Wild Thing' round out a brilliant second installment in the band's Live Tapes series.

“Over the years, lots of people have said that Cold Chisel are better live than on record”, says Jimmy Barnes. “Well I hope all of those people go out and listen to this album - it’s the version of “Breakfast At Sweethearts” that we should have released in the first place."


1. Shipping Steel

2. Home and Broken Hearted

3. Dresden    

4. Conversations

5. Showtime

6. The Door

7. Breakfast at Sweethearts

8. Plaza

9. One Long Day

10. Merry-Go-Round

11. Wild Thing

12. Goodbye (Astrid Goodbye)