Shopping Cart

Cold Chisel

Breakfast At Sweathearts (Collector's Edition CD+DVD)

Digipack Includes: 'Breakfast At Sweethearts' (CD) & Video Bootleg Volume Two: 1978 (DVD)

Released less than a year after their debut, Breakfast At Sweethearts was Cold Chisel’s Top 10 debut, peaking at #4 and going gold shortly after release. Sweethearts was a real café in the middle of Kings Cross where pianist/songwriter Don Walker lived. He liked to observe the seedy lost souls of Kings Cross and the title track describes a place where it’s always three in the morning. Another song “Plaza” refers to the Plaza Hotel in which Walker lived at the time – across the road from Sweethearts cafe.

Cold Chisel at this point were still living nocturnally, with next week’s gigs paying last week’s rent. “Shipping Steel” is a modern blues with a desperate vocal and a razor-wire guitar. “Merry-Go-Round” is a flat out rock & roll song that often opened Cold Chisel’s live shows. "Goodbye (Astrid Goodbye)" is the most relentless, scorching rock & roll song in the Chisel canon and still their closing number – more punk than punk rock, it’s bawdy, funny and takes no prisoners. Cold Chisel were never happy with the production on Breakfast At Sweethearts the album contains some of their most loved songs and its better than the band think it is.



  1. Conversations
  2. Merry Go Round
  3. Dresden
  4. Goodbye (Astrid Goodbye)
  5. Plaza
  6. Shipping Steel
  7. I'm Gonna Roll Ya
  8. Showtime
  9. Breakfast at Sweethearts
  10. The Door

Video Bootleg Volume Two: 1978

  1. Conversations
  2. One Long Day
  3. Khe Sanh
  4. Daskarzine
  5. Georgia on my Mind
  6. Breakfast At Sweethearts
  7. The Door
  8. Goodbye (Astrid Goodbye)Dresden
  9. Shipping Steel
  10. I'm Gonna Roll Ya